Sweet tooth?

It’s almost Friday!  This week has been pretty cold/gloomy, but luckily it’s going by quickly.

I try to eat relatively healthy, especially during the week.  Lately for lunches I’ve been making my salad at home which includes: spring mix, spinach, carrots, broccoli slaw, turkey patty, and a mix of hummus/cottage cheese instead of dressing.  It’s actually pretty yummy!

image

Daily lunch

I do, however, have a really big sweet tooth!  Because of this, I don’t like to bake too much because I’m worried I’ll end up eating too much… I’m sure this happens to everyone right? 😉

Lately, I’ve been on quite a bit of a baking kick because I’ve had the chance to share it with other people.  Over Easter weekend, I made this three layer Hummingbird cake which was a huge hit!  It has pineapple, banana, pecans, and a cream cheese frosting.  Isn’t she pretty?! Everyone LOVED this cake and it was relatively simple to make.

 

A week later I decided to continue my baking and make cupcakes.  I think my favorite thing to make is cupcakes because you can get pretty unique with the flavors/frosting combo.  I also think it’s easier to control the amount you eat with cupcakes.  This time, I ended up just making a basic vanilla cupcake with chocolate frosting.  I was bringing them into work and didn’t want to get too crazy with the flavors.  These tasted like sugar cookies in the form of a cupcake!  I wanted a bold chocolate-y flavor so I ended up adding more coco to the frosting.. can’t go wrong with more chocolate.

image

Yes I  used my fancy piping set 🙂

While I was at the store buying my cupcake ingredients, I decided to just go all in and buy a few additional ingredients and make blueberry muffins.  I’ve made these a few times and knew how delicious they were.   These were yummy but they could have turned out better.  I didn’t properly measure the crumble topping (I already had the cinnamon and sugar combined from a past recipe) so it wasn’t too “crumbly”.   With these, you can really control the level of sweetness based on how much crumble you use.  The muffins themselves aren’t super sweet, so if you like them really sweet just add a lot of crumble on top.

image

Is your mouth watering yet?  While I was scrolling through my pics I found a doozy!  Now I didn’t make this, but I just had to post a picture because of how spectacular it is.  Well really, I had to post it twice because it’s in my cover photo as well. Let me introduce you to a Piecaken.  NYC is always coming out with the next biggest craze, and when we saw this we just had to order it for an office party.  This is a three layer dessert which consists of 3 types of pie stuffed into a cake!  Seriously one of the best desserts I’ve ever had.

piecakein

Pound cake with pecan pie, pumpkin pie, apple turnover, and cinnamon buttercream

Are you craving sweets yet? I hope this post doesn’t send you straight to the dessert aisle! 😉

2 thoughts on “Sweet tooth?

Leave a Reply

