Half Marathon & Updates

Hi All!  Wow, it feels like it’s been so long since I’ve written a post.  Last weekend the day finally came… I ran my half marathon!  I was so nervous the week before because my training schedule was really sporadic.  Between winter and busy weekends I really didn’t run as much as I wanted to.  I didn’t feel very prepared and set a very loose goal for myself of 2:30.

image

The marathon was about an hour south from me and started at 8:30 am.  Luckily, we had great weather.  I was so nervous before we started, I must have went to the bathroom a million times haha.   The adrenaline definitely kicked in right as we started…

The run itself started out great; I felt good and was able to pace myself and breathe right.  It was so nice running with the ocean view and not to mention all of the large beach houses. Around mile 9 the pain started kicking in.  My back and hip both started hurting.  I pushed through it and did walk a little bit.  It was hard, like really hard, but I tried to run almost all of it and ended up finishing about a minute before my goal.   I think running 13.1 miles is one of the toughest things I’ve accomplished.

image

Over 4,000 people registered

After it was over it was a huuuuuge weight lifted off my shoulders.  Months of mentally (and physically) preparing was finally done.  Before running it, I thought I might want to sign up for more, but after actually doing it I’m not so sure.   After the run was over, I was ready to celebrate… Don’t judge me. 😉

Yes, burgers and beer!  We went to lunch and scarfed down.  Then I went home to sleep… I was so tired and definitely had a weird limp going on after.   The rest of the weekend I really just spent relaxing and eating!

Later that week, Brian and I ended up going to a Yankees game!  My boss got free tickets from one of our vendors and luckily we were both able to attend.

Again, we got lucky with some really nice weather!  Dare I say summer is almost here? Even though the Yankees lost, we still had a fun night and got to enjoy the game from pretty good seats.

I hope everyone is having a good week!  We are getting ready to prepare for our trip to Chicago, which I will be writing about of course. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon & Updates

  1. Tasty Trials and Travels says:

    Congrats on finishing your first 1/2 marathon!! After my first one I was so excited to sign up for another one, but after my second one (that came with a LOT of tears and pain), I vowed I would never do another one. Now a few years later, I am thinking about doing another one.. but it sure took a long time to feel like doing that again. Love baseball games!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Quest to the East says:

    Thank you! My time was soooo slow but I’m just glad I was able to commit to it and finish. The one at disney world looks so fun, but I’m still debating whether I want to do another one. I think I’m gonna wait a while before I decide haha.

    Yes baseball games are the best! We have a few more scheduled this year that I’ll be posting about 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

