Chi town and life updates!

Oh my goodness… It’s been so long since I’ve written anything but better late than never!  I have so much to share and I’m gonna try to fill everyone in as much as possible.  The biggest highlight of last year… I got ENGAGED! I’ll have a whole separate post about that but first I wanted to share some pictures from our Chicago trip a few months ago.  Chicago had been on both of our travel lists for a while because mainly we like to eat! And eating we did, the food did not disappoint!

My favorites included:

Lou Malnati’s– this is seriously the best deep dish pizza.  I loved it so much I insisted we come here multiple times.  If you go to Chicago you HAVE TO STOP HERE!

Portillo’s Hot Dogs– Because you have to have a hot dog in Chicago

Wildberry Pancake and cafe– We found this breakfast spot and yelp and it was soo delicious!  Those wildberry pancakes are such a sweet a delectable meal.  It was pretty busy, but worth the wait.

When we travel we love to walk everywhere and just absorb the people and places.  There’s so much to see in Chicago, I recommend staying downtown since everything is walking distance.  We did take their subway transportation one time…

You guessed it- we went to a Cubs game!  Even though we are Yankee fans, we couldn’t miss the opportunity to see the famous Wrigley Field.  This is a great stadium and a really fun area.  There are tons of bars and restaurants surrounding the stadium so you should get their early so you can eat and pre-party!

This was such a picturesque city… look at those tulips!  I couldn’t get enough of them.

While we were there we decided to do a segway tour.  I’ve always wanted to do one but once we got to the location I started to get super nervous and was wondering how people balance on them.  It took about 15 minutes to get the hang of it but once we did we had the time of our lives.  Segways are such a fun and unique way to explore cities and I really recommend it.

That photo on the right is not edited, Lake Michigan is so pretty and really is that blue!

Other highlights of the trip include:  The sears tower, seeing the bean at Millennium park, and the Chicago art institute.  I’m not scared of heights, but once we were actually up there in the glass tower it was scary for some reason.  Luckily, I overcame my fear long enough to take some pics 😉

Below are also some of my favorite paintings from the museum.  We were there while they were doing Van Gogh’s Bedroom exhibit.  He painted three different versions of his bedroom and they are displayed in different parts in of the world.  This exhibit brings all three together at one time!

We couldn’t leave Chicago without seeing the infamous Bean!

I think Chicago was one of my top two destination places.  If the amazing food isn’t enough to pull you in, this is a city that’s full of stuff to do.  We were non-stop for four days and I feel still like I could go back and see more.  Hopefully I’ll get the chance to go again one day soon.

Leave a Reply

